About Me

Well hello there!  My name is Kallie (pronounced 'kay-lee') and I'm an engineer, sewist, wife, and cat-lady living in Ottawa, Ontario.  In addition to engineering and sewing, I love camping, canoeing, cooking, and growing veggies in my front yard.

When I graduated university and moved to Ottawa for my job back in 2012, I was looking for a hobby to keep me busy in the evenings and on weekends since I wasn't busy with homework any longer. My mom-in-law is an avid knitter and sewist, and happened to have a spare 1980's Singer sewing machine.  And so!  My love of sewing began.  I started small with some Christmas stockings, attempted a quilt, and them moved on to sewing dresses and skirts.  I love sewing because it combines a love of putting things together and a love of clothing & fashion.  When people ask, I'll often tell them it's like Lego, but I get to wear my creations when I'm finished!

I was getting sick an tired of seeing the same-old same-old in stores, and constantly thinking "I could sew that!  Maybe for less!  And it would be better quality!".  I also noticed that a too-large chunk of my paycheque was being wasted on fast-fashion items that really only last a season before wearing out.  I started this blog to document my goal of sewing all of the items in my wardrobe (with some small exceptions) for an entire year.   Now that I've finished with my "Year of Sewing" goal, I'm going to update this blog (likely infrequently!) with my various makes 😁

You can also check me out on Instagram or Bloglovin'!

No comments:

Post a Comment